usnews.com store twitter facebook google+
Monday, December 3, 2012
The problem with much of American business executives is not that President Obama is advancing some sort of socialist agenda that threatens their success. The problem is that some of these same executives don’t really want to be capitalists. It’s Business Execs—Not Obama—Who Don’t Get the Rules of Capitalism
Tuesday, June 19, 2012
Madden found that female stockbrokers tend to receive inferior accounts and sales opportunities compared to their male colleagues, which leads to women’s lower salaries. About 1 in 3 full-time stockbrokers are women, and on average, they earn two-thirds of the salaries of their male colleagues. Alpha Consumer: Hidden Sexism at Financial Firms
Thursday, March 22, 2012
While Greg Smith’s letter contains little news about Goldman itself, it highlights a widespread and disturbing trend in American society: the death of the culture of professionalism. This passing has far greater impact than its effects on any one firm, even one as big, influential, and systemically important as Goldman. The change has sweeping consequences for our economy as a whole. Greg Smith, Goldman Sachs, and the Death of Professionalism - David Brodwin, Economic Intelligence
Tuesday, March 20, 2012 Wednesday, March 14, 2012
"With a kid on the way, I really need to earn more." Your request needs to be about your value to the company, not about your finances. What not to say when asking for a raise
Tuesday, February 28, 2012 Wednesday, December 14, 2011
If you want to become an entrepreneur because you don’t want to work for “the man” anymore, consider that working for yourself might mean working for a meaner boss. 10 Things to Consider Before Becoming a Full-Time Entrepreneur
Wednesday, August 24, 2011 Wednesday, March 30, 2011 Tuesday, March 8, 2011 Friday, March 4, 2011 Friday, February 25, 2011 Tuesday, February 8, 2011 Monday, December 27, 2010