usnews.com store twitter facebook google+
Monday, May 19, 2014
Read the full story here.
Thursday, May 1, 2014
Dogs are so much smarter than children. There has never been a seeing-eye-kid. We Do Not Have Children, and That’s Okay
Monday, March 3, 2014 Thursday, December 5, 2013 Wednesday, May 29, 2013
REPORT: Women are either the sole or primary earners in more than 40% of all U.S. households with children under 18

REPORT: Women are either the sole or primary earners in more than 40% of all U.S. households with children under 18

Monday, April 15, 2013

Should there be stronger regulations of American day care?

Trusting your child with someone else is one of the hardest things that a parent has to do—and in the United States, it’s harder still, because American day care is a mess. About 8.2 million kids—about 40 percent of children under five—spend at least part of their week in the care of somebody other than a parent. Most of them are in centers, although a sizable minority attend home day cares like the one run by Jessica Tata. In other countries, such services are subsidized and well-regulated. In the United States, despite the fact that work and family life has changed profoundly in recent decades, we lack anything resembling an actual child care system. Excellent day cares are available, of course, if you have the money to pay for them and the luck to secure a spot. But the overall quality is wildly uneven and barely monitored, and at the lower end, it’s Dickensian.
The Hell of American Day Care
Wednesday, September 14, 2011 Friday, September 9, 2011 Friday, August 12, 2011 Tuesday, July 5, 2011 Tuesday, June 28, 2011 Tuesday, February 8, 2011 Friday, January 21, 2011 Thursday, January 13, 2011 Thursday, January 6, 2011
When I ask children about their favorite family memories, a lot of them will talk about a ritual. They’re islands of stability in the torrential currents of our culture. How to Be a Better Parent in 2011